Whether you’re a resident of or visitor to Illinois, it’s important to know the laws regarding the sale, purchase and consumption of alcohol.
Fake ID’s in Illinois
Illinois has strict laws pertaining to the use of a fake ID to acquire alcohol, and when those laws are broken, the penalties can be harsh. According to Illinois law, you can be convicted of a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and fines of up to $2,500 for any of the following offenses:
- Lending a license or state ID to someone under the legal drinking age of 21
- Using someone else’s ID to purchase alcohol
- Possessing a fabricated driver’s license or identification card to purchase alcohol
- Possessing, transferring or providing any identification document to obtain a fake ID card or driver’s license
- Altering or attempting to alter a driver’s license or state ID card
A second conviction on any of the above charges is a Class 4 felony.
You can be convicted of a Class 4 felony punishable by one to three years’ imprisonment and fines up to $25,000 for:
- Possessing a fake Illinois driver’s license or state ID card
- Possessing equipment to reproduce a government-issued ID card or driver’s license
- Advertising, distributing, manufacturing, or selling a fake driver’s license
Any subsequent conviction of any of the above is a Class 3 felony punishable by up to seven years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
Underage Drinking in Illinois
Providing alcohol to anyone under the age of 21 could result in a maximum fine of $2,500 and up to a year in jail for a misdemeanor offense. Felony offenses can result in a prison sentence of a year or more and fines up to $25,000.
The “Social Host” law in Illinois carries a $500 minimum fine (with a maximum $2,500 fine and up to one year in jail) when someone knowingly allows underage drinking at a private residence. If a serious injury or fatality occurs because alcohol was provided to underage individuals, the guilty party is subject to a Class 4 felony and up to three years in prison and fines up to $25,000.
Possession, consumption, purchase, or receipt of alcohol by an individual under the age of 21 years of age may result in a three-month suspension of the individual’s driver’s license, a one-year suspension for the second offense of this nature, and license revocation for all subsequent offenses.
Transporting alcohol is illegal in Illinois, and anyone in the vehicle can be punished with a fine of up to $1,000. The driver of the vehicle faces mandatory driver’s license suspension for one year on the first offense and a mandatory one-year revocation for subsequent offenses.
Underage DUI Offenses
For an underage driver’s first DUI conviction, he may face up to one year in jail and fines totaling up to $2,500. The guilty party may also face a two-year (minimum) driver’s license revocation. On the second conviction, the underage offender may face up to a year in jail and fines up to $2,500, revocation of driving privileges for five years or until the age of 21 (whichever comes first), and mandatory imprisonment of five days. The offender may also have to perform 240 hours of community service.
An aggravated DUI conviction, which is any DUI resulting in great bodily harm or death; a third or subsequent DUI conviction; or getting a DUI without a valid driver’s license, driver’s permit or car insurance may result in the following:
- Imprisonment of up to 14 years for DUI resulting in a fatality
- Imprisonment of up to 28 years for multiple fatalities
- Felony charges vary for these offenses from a Class 4 felony (one to three years imprisonment) to a Class X felony (6-30 years)
- Minimum driver’s license revocation periods vary from a minimum of one year to mandatory life revocation of driving privileges
Purchase, Possession and Consumption of Alcohol in Illinois
You must be 21 years of age to purchase or consume alcohol in Illinois. The penalties for breaking this law include a $500 fine. If a person under the legal drinking age of 21 is caught possessing alcohol on a street, highway or any public place, he is subject to a $500 fine and has committed a Class A misdemeanor.
If you live in Illinois and have been arrested for an alcohol-related crime, please contact an Illinois criminal defense attorney with experience in these types of cases as soon as possible.